It's 50 years since the creation of Merseyside - but do you still consider yourself Lancastrian?

Half a century on from the creation of Merseyside, what do you class yourself as?
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

On April 1, 1974, a nationwide redrawing of the council map saw Liverpool become part of the newly-formed metropolitan county of Merseyside. Previously, it was a part of Lancashire and a county borough in 1889, but it's now been 50 years since the changes came into effect.

However, some residents still feel distinctly Lancastrian, particularly in the extremities of the region, such as St Helens and Southport.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Friends of Real Lancashire, are an organisation dedicated to defending the identity of Lancashire as it existed for almost a millennium before a major shake-up of local government. They're calling for signs marking the boundaries of 'historic Lancashire' to be erected.

Cities including Liverpool were once part of what was - and still is - an historic Lancashire that can be traced back to 1182. However, the city is now part of Merseyside, which is comprised of five metropolitan boroughs: Knowsley, St Helens, Sefton, Wirral, and Liverpool. Half a century later, we want to know how the people who live here identify.

We hit the streets of Liverpool to speak to a cross section of people to find out what they had to say on the matter. Watch the video above to find out what they said.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.