Could Salomon Rondon still get retrospective ban for Tomas Soucek boot to face in Everton’s loss to West Ham?

Some quarters have called for the FA to take action towards the Toffees striker.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

West Ham United midfielder Tomas Soucek was left needing stitches following a collision with Salomon Rondon in Everton's 1-0 defeat on Sunday.

And some Hammers supporters have called for the Toffees striker to be handed a retrospective ban.

What happened?

In the second half of the Goodison Park encounter, Rondon and Soucek tussled for the ball.

The latter slid in to tackle before Rondon's flailing boot, when running towards goal, caught Soucek in the face.

Yet referee Stuart Attwell allowed play to go on, with Soucek only receiving treatment after the ball went out.

Everton striker Salomon Rondon. Picture: Richard Heathcote/Getty ImagesEverton striker Salomon Rondon. Picture: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images
Everton striker Salomon Rondon. Picture: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

The Czech Republic international had blood running down his face and was substituted for Craig Dawson before having stitches.

Soucek allayed fears about his wound, writing on Twitter: “A few more stitches on my face, to add to my collection. I never give up for any reason. Great win lads and keep up the good work. Don’t worry, I am still alive.”

It hasn't stopped some from believing that Rondon should be punished, though.

Is that possible?

However, it is highly unlikely that the FA will do so.

The association will only take restrospective action "in situations where a match official has been deceived by a player and as a direct result:

- A penalty has been awarded; and/or

- An opposing player has been sent off [where the simulation led to a straight red card or caused one of the two cautions that led to the dismissal].”

In addition, the FA website states that “in order for The FA to take retrospective action it must first establish from the match officials whether the incident was ‘not seen’. If they confirm they did see it then in almost all cases no further action is taken.”

The incident was right in front of Attwell, as well as fourth official Martin Atkinson. VAR referee Chris Kavanagh also did not recommend the footage needed reviewing.

That means Rondon will again be available against Watford on Saturday (15.00 BST).

Related topics: