Liverpool’s Mo Salah shortlisted for FIFA Best Men’s Player award 2021 - you can vote for him to win

The Egyptian is nominated for the award along with the likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo a Kevin De Bruyne.

Mo Salah celebrates scoring against Arsenal. Picture: Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah has been named on the shortlist for the FIFA Best Men’s Player award for 2021.

The Egyptian’s consistently world-class performances for Liverpool has seen him rightly nominated for the accolade.

Sign up to our LiverpoolWorld Today newsletter

He faces tough opposition though, and is up against previous winners such as Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Liverpool did not win a trophy in 2021, when they were unable to retain the Premier League title, but Salah has been nominated for his individual accolades.

In October, Salah became the highest-scoring African player in Premier League history after a hat-trick in the 5-0 thrashing of Manchester United at Old Trafford. He overtook former Chelsea striker Didier Drogba with 107 goals.

Salah has scored or assisted 18 goals in the Premier league this term - the best tally in Europe’s top five leagues for goal involvements. Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema is next in the list with 17.

The Liverpool forward currently holds the record in the Premier League this season for: most goals, most expected assists, most dribbles completed, most touches in the oppositions box, most shots on target, most big chances created and most accurate through balls.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominations

  • Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid CF)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC / Manchester United FC)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway / BV Borussia 09 Dortmund)
  • Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea FC)
  • N’Golo Kanté (France / Chelsea FC)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC)

How to vote:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player is voted for by an international jury comprising the current coaches of all men’s national teams, current captains of all men’s national teams, one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team and fans registered on

Public voting is open here on and will run until 23:59 CET on 10 December 2021.

FIFA will announce the three finalists in early January 2022, with final award being given out in a ceremony on 17 January.