Liverpool boss takes home first managerial prize since 2020 as forward also earns trophy

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
The Liverpool manager has finally been rewarded with the monthly award after four years.

Liverpool duo Jurgen Klopp and Diogo Jota both picked up the Premier League's monthly awards, which was announced today.

Klopp earned his first 'Manager of the Month' award since the 2020/21 season after Liverpool beat Chelsea, Newcastle and Bournemouth in January. That was his first award since May 2021 when they rounded off the difficult campaign with five wins to secure third place.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jota, who has been in great form recently, snapped up the 'Player of the Month' award from the Premier League after managing three goals and two assists across those three wins. Connor Bradley was recognised for his brilliant month of form with the PFA Fans Player of the Month award as well, but we've decided to look closer into both Liverpool figures.

Jurgen Klopp

With Klopp leaving at the end of the season, at least he was able to manage another award of this calibre before he leaves English football. He has previously won the award nine times, with five of them coming in just six months in the dominating 2019/20 campaign.

Furthermore, he has the chance to add to his collection as his side hunt down the Premier League but they could secure their first silverware of the season in just over a weeks time at Wembley against Chelsea. Then there's also the FA Cup, in which they are favourites behind Man City and the Europa League, which they stand as frontrunners to secure the European cup.

Diogo Jota

The Portuguese took it upon himself to be Liverpool's most reliable attacker while Mohamed Salah was injured and away on international duty. Currently, the forward is on for his best individual season at the club having already totalled 14 goals and three assists in 27 games.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In fact, he is fifth in Europe for most non-penalty goals scored per90 with 0.80 which is behind Kylian Mbappe (0.87) Harry Kane (1.02) Deniz Undav (1.03) and Serhou Guirassy (1.16) as Jota has been a consistent figure. It's the first time he's won the award and he will continue to be a key starter for Liverpool.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.